Kristen Lowe, an Iowa State University student from Dysart, IA (52224), was inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society on April 29, 2018, in Ames, Iowa.

Lowe was one of 72 Iowa State students with a major in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (LAS) who were inducted into the prestigious honor society. Founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary in Virginia, Phi Beta Kappa recognizes students for outstanding academic achievement in a broad curriculum in the liberal arts and sciences.

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State University was granted its Phi Beta Kappa chapter charter in 1973.

In addition, five LAS students received special awards during the ceremony:

  • Ruth Grace, recipient of the Jerry Shakeshaft Phi Beta Kappa Award in the social sciences or humanities
  • Jonathan Thielen, recipient of the Edward Allen Award in the mathematical disciplines
  • Thomas Waltmann, recipient of the Jean Day Lassila Award for best undergraduate academic program
  • Sydney Ellis, recipient of the Barbara Mack Award
  • Katherine Knudtson, recipient of the Ruth and Clayton Swenson Award in the sciences

About Iowa State

At Iowa State University, students don’t get just an average college experience. They get an adventure. After all, we offer students a challenging career-oriented academic setting paired with a welcoming campus environment. And above all else, we encourage our students to achieve – and we provide the support they need to do just that.