pols5 p.m. Monday is the latest that residents can cast absentee ballots in the Benton County Auditor’s Office. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. throughout Benton County, as well as all other Iowa polling places. Those who have requested absentee ballots but have not turned them in can surrender them at their precinct polling place and vote there.

More than 4,100 county voters have requested absentee ballots, a few hundred fewer than in the 2012 Presidential Election.

In addition to the federal offices (President, U.S. Senate, U.S. House), county residents will vote in two state elections. Democrat Dennis Mathahs is challenging incumbent District 38 State Sen. Tim Kapucian The Libertarian Party’s John George is also a candidate in the District 38 race. Democrat Paula (Polly) Denison is opposing Republican Dawn Pettengill in Iowa House District 75.

County races on the ballot include:

Supervisor District 3: Democrat Joan Flecksing is running against Republican Gary Bierschenk; incumbent Don Frese did not seek re-election.

Supervisor District 2: Democratic incumbent Terry Hertle is being challenged by Republican Richard Primmer.

Auditor: Democrat Vicky Schwenker is running against Republican Hayley Rippel. Incumbent Jill Marlow did not seek re-election.

Sheriff Randy Forsyth is retiring; the candidates for this race are Republican Ron Tippett and Independent Vince Snyder.

There are also township clerk and trustee candidates on ballots in rural precincts. The Soil and Water Commission and Benton County Ag Extension Council offices are also on the ballot. The retention of several state judges is also on the ballot in all Iowa precincts.

Click HERE to see a sample ballot for your precinct, as well as other information about voting, and registering to vote, from the Benton County Auditor’s Office.