Representatives from Tilford Elementary traveled to Washington D.C. this week to accept Tilford’s National Blue Ribbon Award.

Accepting the Award for Tilford Elementary were from left: teachers Sarah Mathis and Lisa Murray; Tilford Principal Jim Murray, Superintendent Mary Jo Hainstock; and Tilford teachers Laurie Hyland and Shelley Haisman.

In October, school officials celebrated being one of just 349 schools honored as a Blue Ribbon School with a presentation to all Tilford students.

The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

See the original story about the award HERE.