East-Central Iowa REC is proud to announce it has awarded $1,000 scholarships to three young men who plan to begin pursuing careers as lineworkers through the Powerline Technician program at Northwest Iowa Community College, as well as nine graduating seniors who plan to further their education in a diverse range of programs.

Congratulations to these deserving students!

Powerline Technician Scholarship Winners

1. Jacob Demuth, son of Ben Demuth (Marion High School)

2. Brady Maurer, son of David Maurer (Wapsi Valley High School)

3. Noah Studebaker, son of Troy and Amy Studebaker (Independence Junior and Senior High School) General Scholarship Winners

4. Jordan Baumgartner, daughter of Brad and LeAnn Baumgartner – Hawkeye Community College (Starmont High School)

5. Haley Dinderman, daughter of Scott and Dana Dinderman – Iowa State University (VintonShellsburg High School)

6. Claire Holtz, daughter of Richard and Dawn Holtz – Kirkwood Community College (Center PointUrbana High School)

7. Colin Hurley, son of William and Cristina Hurley – Iowa State University (Benton Community Schools)


8. Kaylee Kortenkamp, daughter of Don and Kara Kortenkamp – Iowa State University (East Buchanan High School)

9. Eric Lympus, son of Chad and Denise Lympus – Iowa State University (Independence Junior and Senior High School)

10. Natalie McMillan, daughter of John and Nancy McMillan – Iowa State University (Oelwein High School)

11. Hans Riensche, son of Ben and Lisa Riencsche – Iowa State University (Jesup Community School)


12. Payton Sash, daughter of Kevin and Mary Jo Sash – Iowa State University (Union High School)




East-Central Iowa Rural Electric Cooperative maintains 2,275 miles of distribution power lines, serving 8,690 member-accounts in 11 Iowa counties in Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Clayton, Delaware, Fayette, Iowa, Linn, and Tama Counties.