Vinton-Shellsburg senior Jamie Thompson was among Iowa’s top academic students honored by Iowa’s Governor Branstad on Sunday, April 30, at the 15th Annual Governor’s Scholar Recognition Ceremony at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines

The Governor’s Office, the Iowa High School Athletic Association, and its title sponsor, the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, presented this recognition program. The Honorable Governor Terry Branstad and Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds hosted the event and its audience of 2,500-plus. Iowa Farm Bureau President Craig Hill; and Gary Ross, Chairperson of the Board of Control of the Iowa High School Athletic Association also delivered messages to the students and their guests. The day’s program included remarks from Iowa’s Teacher of the Year, Shelly Vroegh, a fifth-grade teacher and instructional coach in the Norwalk Community School District.

The seniors honored were selected by their high schools as their highest academic achievers. All students attending the ceremony received a photo plaque of themselves with Governor Branstad and Lt. Governor Reynolds and a certificate to commemorate their achievement. In addition, each student’s most influential teacher also received a certificate of appreciation.