advertiser content
advertiser content

Dear Editor,

Tuesday's election results have shown that Benton County residents are fed up with the way things have gone the past two years. All but one person elected to represent our citizens are from the GOP.

All 3 Supervisors - Republican

Attorney - Republican

Auditor - Republican

Recorder - Republican

Sheriff - Republican

Treasurer - Republican

State Representative - Republican

State Senator - Republican

Governor / Lt Governor - Republican

Attorney General - Republican

Secretary of Agriculture - Republican

Secretary of State - Republican

State Auditor - The Lone Democrat

State Treasurer - Republican

All 4 Representatives to Congress - Republican

Both US Senators - Republican

But, more important to me, was the overwhelming response to the Freedom Amendment to the Iowa Constitution. Benton County showed that we support the right to keep and bear arms and that it is a fundamental individual right. Further, the Amendment states that any law to the contrary is subject to strict scrutiny. Many people worked very hard to educate the citizens of Iowa why this change was so important. Locally, Tactical Creations went out of their way to ensure passage in Benton County and the Iowa Firearms Coalition and NRA is responsible for its success across the state.

We need to keep the momentum going for the election in two years. We've witnessed what the Democratic Party has done the past two years and our freedoms are on the line in 2024.

Tom Boeckmann

Next Opinion Article
Birth of the Marines Remembered

Previous Opinion Article
Wyatt Concedes Election

Comments

Submit a Comment

Please refresh the page to leave Comment.

Still seeing this message? Press Ctrl + F5 to do a "Hard Refresh".

GB November 9, 2022, 8:39 pm Amen!
SJW November 9, 2022, 9:16 pm Right on track for fascist state. Good job
DL November 10, 2022, 1:07 pm Explain what has happened, over the last two years, that has threatened yours, or anyone else's, freedom?
RB November 10, 2022, 1:20 pm How soon people forget January 6th led by the most corrupt, criminal president in history and what things were like when he left office.

Since Trump left 10 million jobs have been created in less than 2 years. Unemployment is historically low. A huge infrastructure bill was passed. Guess what, the percent of Iowa’s bridges in need of repair is among the highest in the country. Inflation is a problem for sure but if you really study things it can hardly be totally blamed on this president. Gas prices and supply chain shortages, with its source during the pandemic and the war in Ukraine, are the culprits. Oil companies had their largest quarterly profits ever (over $100 billion). at the same time we were paying g high prices at the pump. Explain how that is possible if they weren’t gouging consumers. Inflation is a global issue for the reasons stated above.

People forget Clinton was handed a recession from Bush 1 and turned over a budget surplus to Bush 2. 700,000 jobs per month were being shed when Bush 2 left office. Obama rescued the car industry and shored up the banks. He handed 72 months straight of job creation to Trump. Trump ignored the pandemic early on and handed double digit unemployment to Biden.

So tell me about how things were when republicans had the keys to the country!
NG November 10, 2022, 4:38 pm As I have stated before Iowa used to be ranked #1 in education and now we are #24. Besides that Reynolds wants to take tax payer money away from public education and give it to private schools which will do more harm to public schools. Anyone with kids in public schools should be against that. I think the people of Iowa don't realize all the harm republicans are doing to this state. If it doesn't affect them personally they don't pay attention.

Republicans kept talking about "The big red wave" that was coming. Well, it didn't happen because the people of this country said no, we don't agree. The women of this country stood up and said no, we are capable of making our own healthcare decisions. We will not be treated like second class citizens.

For all of Trumps losers, lets see if they accept their loss or if they act like Trump and refuse to accept their loss.

Looks like Trump wants to run again in 2024. Under republican control marriage equality, contraception, social security and medicare would be on the chopping block. We will not let that happen.

I think what all the republican winners in Iowa says is that the people voted for their party instead of the person. They didn't pay attention to what the person had done or would do, but they wanted their party in power, regardless of what they would do.
RS November 10, 2022, 5:42 pm Tom,

If you are going to take a victory lap and pat your party on the back, just remember while the red wave occurred in Iowa, it did not occur nationally putting Iowa going the wrong direction to the rest of most of the country.

Celebrate the fact that Iowa is all Republican but you have to take responsibility if things go bad. It does not work the way Trump wants it, if it is good, he’ll take the credit but if it goes bad it is someone’s else fault. Republicans are in control in Iowa, you can’t blame Democrats if things go bad. Republicans have to own the bad as well as the good. Time will tell.

Rosemary Schwartz
Not afraid to own up to what I write and don’t whine about it.
GB November 10, 2022, 9:40 pm Claims that Republicans want to cut Social Security and Medicare is the "Big Lie" Democrats tell to keep people's thoughts as far away from the short comings of the current President and his failed horrible Domestic and Foreign Policies being pushed by the Socialist Left. No President or Presidential family comes close to the deep seeded corruption of the Biden Crime Family. Keep hanging your hat on January 6th, and ignore the current threat by this incompetent, openly-corrupt and disastrous inept President we currently have and China will be eating your lunch and the fools who ignored and intentionally overlooked the fact we as a country are being led by a Freak Show of clowns and fools.
MW November 11, 2022, 12:17 pm Tom
The last election may seem to be good for Republicans, but it’s not really good for Iowa. One party rule with no effective oversight is bad, especially for public education and teachers or city, county and state employees
RL November 11, 2022, 2:00 pm Love this breakdown, particularly the Democrat to serve as auditor. No party has a monopoly on integrity and one party - even the right one - running everything entails risk. Glad to have a guy from the other party watching them like a hawk to protect the taxpayer.
MR November 11, 2022, 4:38 pm Dan 2:20  Daniel answered and said: “Blessed be the name of God forever and ever, to whom belong wisdom and might.
Dan 2:21  He changes times and seasons; he removes kings and sets up kings; he gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to those who have understanding;
Dan 2:22  he reveals deep and hidden things; he knows what is in the darkness, and the light dwells with him.
GB November 11, 2022, 6:30 pm I think the Democrats have been live trapping cats in Vinton and taking them to Pennsylvania and registering them to vote for Democrats. That's how Pennsylvania voted in a dead guy. Democrats have been getting dead people to vote in every election. This is the first time they got a dead Democrat elected! Yup! Everything is legit..
NG November 13, 2022, 2:20 pm Keep the momentum going you say. Reynolds and her gang just declined $30 Million that was to be used for low income families for child care and another $59 Million to be used for affordable housing. That comes to a total of $89 Million that has to be returned to Washington. WHY My opinion is because the money was intended for those in need Reynolds decided it wasn't necessary so it was rejected. Is this the kind of momentum Iowa needs?
GB November 13, 2022, 9:21 pm Absolutely, YES, this is the kind of momentum we need!
advertiser content advertiser content advertiser content
advertiser content