advertiser content


Shellsburg Couple Arrested on Charges of Sexual Abuse and Child Endangerment

The Benton County Sheriff's department made two arrests last week of Jeffrey and Stacy Diveley of Shellsburg. JEFFREY SCOTT DIVELEY was charged with a total of 10 charges in several accounts involving sexual abuse of children. He was charged with two counts each of:SEXUAL ABUSE IN THE SECOND DEGREE, CLASS B FELONY 709.3(1)(b)709.3 Sexual abuse in the second degree.


Around 12,000 households in Eastern Iowa will be issued a one-time additional benefit payment in September for those who applied for the Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) last season in the following counties: Benton, Dubuque, Delaware, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Jones, Linn and Washington. Payments will range from $150 - $315 per household, based on household income and will be paid directly to the applicant’s utility company.
advertiser content

Vinton-Shellsburg names Haisman and Marzen as 2022 Royalty

The Coronation Ceremony at Karr Athletic Complex crowned their Vinton-Shellsburg 2022 Homecoming Royalty on Thursday evening. Queen Molly Haisman and King Gabe Marzen were crowned following the Homecoming Parade downtown and Pep Rally at the Karr Athletic Complex.Congratulation! 

Class of 1972 Reunites for 50th Reunion

The Class of 1972 held their 50th class reunion at the Vinton Legion Hall on Saturday evening, September 17th, 2022.  On the Friday evening before, they held an informal gathering at Berry's Bowling alley.  On Saturday afternoon, a group of class members took a tour of the old high school building.  Followed by a luncheon at the Hospital Pub, located on the grounds of the former Braille School.

Wall Dogs mural of the Braille School on Display in New Location

A blank canvas The mural created by the Wall Dogs depicting the former Iowa Braille and Sigh Saving School now has a new home. Formerly located on the south wall of the building located at 423 1st Ave. the sign was brought down by strong winds in the spring of 2021.The mural was originally at street level so that the Wall Dogs could more easily paint it. Once it was complete the plan was to move it to its permanent location on the side of the Ron-da-voo building.
advertiser content

Virginia Gay Nursing & Rehab Receives CBJ Innovation Award

 Jess Henkle, Director of VGH Nursing & Rehab, partnered with Kirkwood Community College for the Certified Nursing Assistant (C.N.A) Registered Apprenticeship Program. VGH was the first nursing home in the region to sign on for the opportunity. Honored at the event were Alyssa Slight, Jess Henkle, Lisa Stein, Cindy Shaver and Jodi Bearbower.

Eastern Iowa Honor Flight 44 recognizes Vinton Lions Club

Eastern Iowa Honor Flight 44 is now in the books. Each year the Vinton Lions Club has held a chili supper to raise funds for Eastern Iowa Honor Flight and have been doing so for 12 years raising enough money to have a flight named after the Vinton Lions Club. Flight 44 was such a flight. Each shirt issued by EIHF had the Vinton Lions Club name under EIHF logo.

Change of Venue requested for Tacoa Talley Trial

Tacoa Talley, accused of killing Jodie Bevans of Palo in July of this year, has put in a request for a Change of Venue for his upcoming trial in November. Citing a “degree of prejudice exists in the county”  and would affect a “fair and impartial trial.” The request for a Change of Venue hearing is scheduled for September 29. The trial is set for November 7th.
advertiser content

Benton Community School Bus Involved in Accident

On September 21, 2022 at approximately 12:50 PM, the Benton County Sheriff's Department received a report of a two-vehicle accident at 23rd avenue and 76th street near Blairstown.The accident involved a Benton Community School District bus and an SUV. The school bus was occupied by nine students and the bus driver. Of the nine students, three were transported by ambulance for evaluation at a local hospital.

Top 5 King and Queen Homecoming Candidates Announced

Queen Candidates (L to R): Molly Haisman, Kaelyn Pettyjohn, Annabelle Newton, Abby Davis, Brylee BruceKing Candidates (L to R): Paul Herger, Kail Evans, Gabe Marzen, Reese Truax, Logan WatsonTo watch the nominations click here!
View Page
advertiser content
advertiser content