advertiser content
advertiser content

Dear Editor,

Is there a second Statue of Liberty on the border between the United States and Mexico? I thought it was outside New York. "Give us your tired, your hungry, your poor"... If there is, BLOW IT UP!!!

We have problems in this country: unemployment, high gas prices, staggering food prices [if you can find what you want], mass shootings [we had 629 this year[, and so on. If you believe any of these are our country's biggest problem, YOU ARE WRONG!!! Our biggest problem is the border crisis. And it is turning into a catastrophic situation!!!The first time I heard even an inkling from the Biden administration was about six weeks ago when the VP told the Meet the Press moderator that, "The border is secure." It was the first time in all my years of watching the show that I have ever seen him nearly speechless. Who could believe her statement...NOT anyone alive, alert, and breathing.Many Americans don't really watch the news because generally it is depressing. Watch Newsy, the National Desk, ABC News especially, and it will shock you. You can see endless lines of men, women, and children three and four abreast carrying boxes, bags, backpacks, and suitcases waiting to come to America for the "good life." Many of our citizens-who work and pay taxes-don't know what this good life is. And they belong here!Approximately 4 million have crossed the border. [1.73 million are now waiting for asylum] The rest have already passed on their merry way here. Just look at ElPASO as an example. Five hundred immigrants were in one building with only ONE bathroom. And the convention center is packed full like sardines in a can. Right before Christmas, three and four of these people were knocking on residents' doors begging for food. One of those residents said they were then huddling in the corner of his yard. Other residents had similar stories. It worried them to leave their homes for Christmas trips. If you believe that this problem doesn't or won't affect you, WAKE UP!!! These people need to be housed, clothed, fed, and get healthcare. New York stated that they will need over 3 billion dollars in the next three years to care for them. Then consider all the other cities where these people are. There are rapists, murderers, drug dealers, and other criminals who are crossing the border. What do we do with ALL these people for extended periods of time? Can we believe they will watch TV, play chess or checkers, and stay out of trouble? Highly unlikely! Apparently the Biden administration doesn't worry about this crisis. Isn't it lovely to live in La La Land? I say, Continue Governor Abbot and Governor DeSantis, Remind our President that he needs to think about America's citizens who struggle to put food on the table, get their medicines, and pay their heating bills. Give our U.S. people who are also tired, hungry, and poor help FIRST!!!Peggy Kelley

Comments

Submit a Comment

Please refresh the page to leave Comment.

Still seeing this message? Press Ctrl + F5 to do a "Hard Refresh".

RB December 27, 2022, 12:43 pm We should have passed an immigration policy years ago. The biggest “blockers” of getting something done with immigration isn’t Biden and the Democrats.
PK December 27, 2022, 7:41 pm Well...It's Biden and the Democrats job now. He finally got out of Obama's shadow. So...the ball is in his court.
NG December 27, 2022, 10:02 pm If you really believe President Biden isn't paying attention to all the people in this country you are not paying attention. The previous guy is the one who didn't care about everyone and made that very clear by his actions.

Evidently you think it is OK for Abbott to send this bus load of people including young children, toddlers, with no coats and not prepared for freezing weather and just dump them out along the side of the road. All Abbott is doing is proving he is no longer a Christian. This is not what the Bible tells him to do.

Abbott and DeSantis are in a battle to see who can be the most cruel, who can be the most like Trump so they can run for president and have the MAGA crowd vote for them. Wonder if they plan on being crooks like he is. Being cruel and racist makes a good republican evidently.

The republicans WILL NOT work with the Democrats on an immigration bill. They prefer to keep people like you all stirred up and blaming the Biden Administration for everything you can.

You don't want immigrants to come here, maybe you want to go work in the fields yourself and pick your own fruits and vegetables.

Republicans are CINO.

Norma Gould
MD December 27, 2022, 10:04 pm R B -- Who are these people you are reffering to ??
I live 6 miles from the Mexico Border in Texas.
They are coming across AT EL Paso and all along Texas , even Brownsville . 2 - 3 Thousand Daily.
PK December 28, 2022, 7:05 am Are you saying we have enough fruits and veggies to be picked to solve this problem? How amusing!! Biden wanted this top job, and he got it. DeSantis isn't being cruel; he's merely reminding the President to do his job. [HIS JOB!!] I voted for Biden...Big mistake! Don't like DeSantis...Too bad. He's going to be the next president of the good ol' USA.




pk December 28, 2022, 7:21 am I am concerned for every American that is affected right now or will be sooner or later. So don't imply that I am NOT paying attention!! If it's too cold here, they can go back where they came from. They will be taking resources from our people who desperately need things. We're all going to pay for Biden's MESS. Don't kid yourself!!
AL December 28, 2022, 9:52 am You’re***
An article loses a lot of merit when the simplest words are misspelled.

Editor's note: AA LLL I do not put comments through without your name. But in this case, I'll make an exception.
"You're" means "you are."
"An article loses a lot of merit when the simplest words are misspelled." It would be more proper to say, "loses a lot of merits." The word, "loses" is plural so, therefore, "merit" should be plural.

PK December 28, 2022, 10:55 am I know what I meant...La La Land. You know...Where Biden lives most of the time. I taught English for years and years and am retired. I have no problem expressing myself.
GB December 28, 2022, 4:13 pm Another fine mess Biden has created, and the rest of America is left to just deal with it. Regardless of what some may believe, illegal crossings on our southern border were a fraction under Trump to what it is today and a very small fraction. It is clear that the policies of Trump to deal with this issue far exceeded anything Biden has done. One with an ounce of common sense would quickly conclude the total failures of the Biden administration to successfully do anything right that projects competence at any level. Our country has become a laughing stock to the rest of the world and especially to our adversaries. This country is being led by a pack of fools who have no clue about anything. It's a clown show! 2024 can't get here fast enough!
NG December 28, 2022, 7:01 pm It has nothing to do with going back where they came from because it is too cold. It is about being treated like human beings and that includes little children. Treat other people the way you want to be treated. You should try walking a mile in their shoes.

The title 42 debate that is going on right now is not about Covid. It is republicans using Covid to try to try to control immigration. Just more proof that they are very dishonest in more ways than one.

DeSantis and Abbott are both being cruel to immigrants and to the people of their respective states. DeSantis will never be president of this country. With all the book banning and failure to teach children about our history and their nasty attitude towards the LGBTQ+ community they don't stand a chance.

One of the big differences between President Biden and the republicans is our President has empathy for human beings. DeSantis and Abbott do not.

Norma Gould
SG December 28, 2022, 8:16 pm What everyone seems to ignore is this. Before boarding the buses, the "immigrants" aka illegal border crossers give their permission to be sent to the locations where they end up. "Would you like to go to Washington D.C.? You would, the bus leaves at...." It's a free ticket across the country. They are not FORCED to get on the buses. Good grief, pay attention to the details.
NG December 28, 2022, 9:24 pm Good grief, they are promised more than a bus ride. You are not paying attention.

When Covid was in its early stages and there were mask mandates republicans fought that, no masks for them or for students. But now that they can use Covid to their advantage they are suddenly on the side of Covid. Just more proof that republicans always work for their party and not for the people of this country. They are total hypocrites.

Norma Gould
PK December 29, 2022, 7:42 am Did "someone" turn the heat UP? On National Desk this morning, I learned that the man at the TOP is going to allot more money for more border guards. Since the ones already there just turn their heads as the thousands pass by, what are the new ones going to do? Sneer...Snarl...Glare? Some are adding barbed wire to the "lovely" scene. Maybe Abbot and DeSantis have their hands on thermostats after all. Feeling the heat, Joe??
PK December 29, 2022, 10:51 am NG...Thank God for all the "total hypocrites" as you call them!! Guess I am a brand new one since I've jumped from the Democrats' sinking ship which will go down in 2024. [The babies, toddlers, and children were carried and dragged here. Their parents made those decisions!!]
NG December 29, 2022, 4:38 pm They were promised that if they got on the bus they would receive expedited papers so they could find work. A job is what they wanted. They were promised “up to eight months of cash assistance” for “income-eligible” refugees which was a total lie. That is what is given to immigrants if they are part of an official resettlement program. One gentleman said "they were here for their families and could work at anything." Instead of honesty they were treated like trash and lied to.

You can go ahead and think that is OK but I never will. I have never believed that is a correct way to treat human beings and children.

If you want to "Jump Ship" as you said that is fine. We don't need people like you. Some people are never satisfied. The Democrats passed an infrastructure bill, brought manufacturing to this country with the Chips bill, passed the first gun reform bill in 30 years and on and on. They have an immigration bill but republicans will not work with them to pass it. The more they can obstruct President Biden from succeeding the better they like it. Republicans turn everything political and say to hell with what is good for the country. It went on the entire 8 years while President Obama was in office. If that is what you want to be a part of, good luck.

Norma Gould
GB December 29, 2022, 8:59 pm News Flash to the Ms "Know-It-All." Masks do not work,they never worked.
Since Elon Musk took over Twitter and made public the documents where Twitter blocked and even shut down the accounts of any scientists expressing their professional opinions with regards to Covid whenever those opinions did not reflect what the Democrats wanted the public to believe. While the "fake" scientist kept pushing mask mandates and overreach of the government into people's lives, shutting down businesses, schools and banning church services calling them "super spreader" events backed up by disillusioned Democrats. Yet these fools and clowns sat in silence during the riots and even encouraged the civil unrest and fanned the flames with fictional versions of truth and, in some cases, flat-out lies.
President Ronald Reagan once said, "If fascism ever comes to America, it will come in the form of liberalism." It's here, folks! From the Biden Crime Family to Pelosi and Schumer. Of course, the liberals will deny this but look at the facts of what fascism is and it becomes clear the goals of both are very similar. Fascism seeks to control the population by silencing the opposition in any way possible through big government and controlling the press. They spew propaganda of lies and claim those lies are facts. It's about controlling the population and taking advantage of the weak-minded and uninformed making them misinformed and believing the lies. One doesn't have to look very far to see examples of this, even in Benton County.
NG December 30, 2022, 9:52 pm GB, I said I would not respond to you anymore mainly because you don't seem capable of being an adult and stopping the name calling. Here you go again, I am a 76 year old woman. What is wrong with you that you can't show me any respect. Grow up.

Some knowledge for you.

https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/coronavirus/in-depth/coronavirus-mask/art-20485449

https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/conditions-and-diseases/coronavirus/coronavirus-face-masks-what-you-need-to-know

https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/covid-19-myth-or-fact/myth-or-fact-masks-are-effective-against-covid-19/

Do I trust The Mayo Clinic and John Hopkins more than I trust the trash Elon Musk would dig up, In a heart beat. You go ahead and don't wear a mask so if you get sick you can spread it around. Other people will love it, NOT.

PK December 31, 2022, 7:48 am NG You do need people like me who genuinely care about the real Americans in this country. Because your opinions don't sound that way!!

You would be the one person on a jury wiping your eyes and saying the death penalty isn't fair because it is cruel and inhumane. So it isn't cruel and inhumane to slaughter 20 children and 6 adults? What about their rights to live a full life?

Now...You have all this compassion for the border jumpers who will be raping our country's resources better spent on our children and our elderly. Tell me, NG,,,How are we going to keep these people housed, clothed, fed, and provide health care for the next several years to life. EXPLAIN YOUR PLAN!!

Iowa, in the month of October had approximately 332,000 people who were food insecure. [I'm fairly certain there were many more who were hungry.] OUR IOWANS! Think about the other 49 states. Now NG, add in 4+ million border jumpers. Well...Who comes first?

Don't think for one second that I do not care about these babies, toddlers, and children because U do. But resources need to stabilize our people in this country who belong here FIRST!!

I know firsthand about food insecurity; in fact,it practically broke my heart. I taught 7-12 English in a small school district in Kansas. It was called Twin Valley because there were two schools about a 30 minute drive apart. The bigger of the two was in a wealthier area. My school had a large number of single parents raising their children; other two-parent families were poor.

When the Free Breakfast Plan was started, you could tell these kids because they ran to the cafeteria for food. Most likely their first food of the day. At lunch, when everyone had been served, the cooks placed any leftovers on the counter. Anyone could return for seconds. I watched my students actually run over each other to get more food.

It was heartbreaking to see! There was no time for socializing with their peers as they sat at the tables. They were too busy shoving food into their mouths, so they could be first to get more.

The first night after witnessing this, I went home and cried. Many of these kids were skinny and had dark circles under their eyes. And this was happening in Kansas...their America. And this scene never changed. I retired in 2006, and to this day, I can still see those beautiful hungry faces.

So you see, I believe our kids come first!! And so should every Republican and Democrat.
NG December 31, 2022, 3:12 pm PK, you are sounding like you know a lot about me but you are TOTALLY WRONG. Don't assume so much, you just make yourself look bad.

PK January 1, 2023, 7:47 am NG...So, what is your plan for housing, clothing, feeding, and providing healthcare for this MASS of people for now and long range? I didn't see your plan in your response to me. Or are you taking your time to think about it like the President is doing. Four million questionable people roaming around our cities with nothing to do. [Idle hands...] By the time our country elects a strong Republican president, Biden will have left him such a mess, it will take two terms to even begin to straighten out our country. But I'm betting DeSantis can do it!! Oh, something else, NG...Would you feel safe leaving your home and walking alone with pockets of these people huddling in your yard?
NG January 2, 2023, 1:30 am PK, you mean like what the "strong republican president" just left behind for President Biden and how about what W left for President Obama. History tells us that republicans leave the mess that Democrats have to clean up. Republicans spend like drunken sailors and Democrats have to pay down the debt.

President Joe Biden is on track to add the most to the budget deficit, largely due to the costs associated with continuing to battle the coronavirus pandemic. Of course we all know who should have done something about the virus and chose not to because he didn't want the stock market to go down which would make him look bad. He wasn't concerned about this country, only himself.
Why does the United States owe so much debt?

Continued decreases in the amount of taxes paid by corporations and the wealthiest Americans have resulted in less money coming in. At the same time, spending on pandemic relief and the military continues to increase. Now guess who is responsible for all the tax cuts?

As far as your questions, they are above my pay grade. It is not my job to answer those questions but I am glad we have someone in the white house who has empathy for other human beings. That is not DeSantis, he has shown how much he hates immigrants, the LGBTQ community and he is a racist, there is no doubt about that. He is trump 2.0 and we don't need that. We just got rid of him and don't need another one.

Norma Gould
GB January 2, 2023, 8:53 am NG,
Happy New Year! No one said you can't wear a mask if you so choose to do so. It should be a personal choice for anyone and everyone. Schools, church services, and businesses should have never been shut down. The same clowns who screamed bloody murder at how these things were super spreader events were the same clowns who encouraged riots and protests with mass gatherings. You can't have it both ways to fit an agenda.
PK January 2, 2023, 10:09 am To get respect, you have to earn it!! Works that way in the "real" world...for everybody.
PK January 2, 2023, 1:47 pm NG...IF you had read any of my submissions, you would have seen that I hated Donald Trump. Guess you just missed that fact. HUH? Please do not try and compare Ron DeSantis to Trump. It is an unforgivable comparison. Very easy way out to state a plan to solve this 4 million invasion of border jumpers is above your pay grade. You have an opinion on everything else; I've noticed. So why not put your ideas out for all of us to read. In fact, correct statistics can't shut you up. You see what you want to see; obviously, you can't see much about the two people in the White House. You are blinded by your political allegiance. Thank God I've had the good sense to realize how this country is being run and what this country needs. Too bad you have blinders on. Oh, by the way, be correct and either capitalize both party names or have both in lower case. Just thought I'd mention it.
PK January 2, 2023, 2:04 pm NG...White House needs capitalized. You should know that considering your support for the man in that building. This country should be run as well as DeSantis runs Florida. What a novel idea...a well-run United States. Like the old Beach Boys' song, Wouldn't It Be Nice?
advertiser content advertiser content advertiser content
advertiser content